Spendy is the New Poor

Some people really get off on selling things and acquiring money. I am not one of those people, unless what I’m selling is something I no longer use, or I see a real benefit to the customer. “Yeah, see if you can get some good use out of my old dress. Also, don’t ask me where it’s been.”

I consider myself particularly good at sales, but I don’t enjoy it in the same way as many others. I’m missing that key drive that so many sales managers seek out. The “I need that new phone” drive. Some people measure their worth in Coach bags, clean shoes. This is fine, but I prefer to act like old money. What do I mean?

Well, here, let me explain:

“Those chairs over there. The needlework on the covers is unraveling. New money would mend it right away. Old money would leave it just as it is.’” –Berendt, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Some friends and I were talking about this over rum the other night. Who buys brand name clothing (and tells you about it)? Poor people, that’s who. “Check out my latest handbag,” your friend might say. She’s saying this because she’s saved her pennies (or plastic) to buy a thing to show you that she, at some point, had so many pennies. The trouble is, she no longer has those pennies. Rather, she has a handbag.

I prefer pennies.

New Money: Buys new shit, has all the latest, tells you about it.
Old Money: Buy shit when they need it, keep their things nice, rarely talk about it.

“A household with income under $13,000 spends, on average, $645 a year on lottery tickets, or about 9 percent of all income.”*

“…unemployment rate is more than 10%. Alarmingly, rather than belt-tightening, the response has been to spend more. In many poor neighborhoods, one is likely to notice satellite dishes and expensive new cars.”**

Ever wonder why your richest friend is also the stingiest? That’s because he gets the difference. “I don’t need that,” he thinks, and therefore, his bank account swells, while yours dwindles. He doesn’t care about “mending the chair” (maintaining the appearance of wealth). He doesn’t waste money on gambling. Also, he’s Warren Buffet.

Am I saying that you don’t deserve nice things? No. You do. But before you buy the latest, look at what you already have. Are there three bags in your closet that you don’t use? Could someone else enjoy them? Are you a victim of a rather impressive marketing ploy?

Ask yourself why you’re buying. Are you bored? Do you want to look cool? Or, do you actually need these?

Get real. No one needs these, because they’re stupid.

Here to help,

CJS

*http://scienceblogs.com/cortex/2010/05/lotteries_2.php
**http://destee.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-46611.html

“Hey, I was buyin’ a hamburger. That little girl was into me.”

Leave a Reply

