Vintage-Inspired Holiday Ideas for Your Weirdo Friends

I scored this mangled 1947 edition of the Saturday Evening Post in the basement of an antique store for about $2. I knew immediately that I’d struck crafters’ gold.

magazine

That was two years ago, and I’ve come up with countless ideas for it since. Here are a few that might actually be gift-worthy for those who appreciate a little vintage irony.

1. Wall Art

 

wallartcollage

Cigarette ads haven’t been so bold for decades, and I love how ballsy these claims are. For the non-smokers in your life, the Post has all kinds of odd-ball ads. This Smith-Corona ad hangs in my office. There are pages and pages of crazy claims, ranging from traditional to all-out sexist. Definitely a unique statement for a wall. Just not every wall, or your husband will start to doubt your sanity.

2. Weirdo Holiday Cards.

cards

 

 

cows

Because why not? There are plenty of traditional characters in these old magazines, and I thought I’d juxtapose them with some more jarring images for a holiday card that packs more of a punch. (Warning: only send to friends who might appreciate a good statement. ) All you need is some blank stationary and some mod-podge. Voila! A one-of-a-kind card that your hipster friends might actually like displaying. That is, if they don’t think holidays are too passé .

3. Gift Wrap/Box Liners

My dad and I have an old tradition of gifting (and re-gifting) this box to one another. After several re-gifts, it’s starting to wear a bit, but luckily the Post has dozens of pictures of meat (weird, but I’ll take it) that I adhered to the tattered box.

 

giftbox2

_

Add these gifts as a nice little cherry on top of your holiday gifts, and delight the Vintage Vixens* in your life.

(*Sorry, I used to write ad copy for a living . It’s a hard habit to kick)

Seriously though, I always appreciate a unique hand-made gift. Time is a valuable asset, and I know how long it takes to craft unique gifts. I hope your weirdo friends appreciate your effots as much as I do.

Take Care,

Cassie

Leave a Reply

